Menu button

Jonathan Carter, MD FASMBS


Shanu Kothari, MD FASMBS
Executive Council Liaison & Senior Past Chair

ASMBS Staff Liaison

Leslie Vinson


Cheguevara Afaneh, MD FASMBS
Vance Albaugh, MD PhD
Essa Aleassa, MD MSc FRCSC
Mohamed Ali, MD FACS
Maria Altieri, MD MS
Ali Aminian, MD FASMBS
Toms Augustin, MD MPH
Dan Azagury, MD
T. Javier Birriel, MD
Guilherme Campos, MD FASMBS

Salvatore Docimo, DO MS
Maher El Chaar, MD
Sofiane El Djouzi, MD MS FRCSC
Dan Eisenberg, MD, Immediate Past Chair
Saber Ghiassi, MD MPH
Brandon Grover, DO FASMBS
Peter Hallowell, MD FASMBS
Marcelo Hinojosa, MD FASMBS

Jason Michael Johnson, DO
Zhamak Khorgami, MD
Alvaro Galvez Lima, MD
Guilherme Mazzini, MD PhD FASMBS
Fady Moustarah, MD MPH FRCSC
Abdelrahman Nimeri, MBBCh
Sabrena Noria, MD PhD FRCSC FASMBS
Rodolfo Oviedo, MD FASMBS
Pavlos Papasavas, MD FASMBS
Bruce Schirmer, MD

Ad Hoc Literature Review

Kara Kallies, MS

IH Clinical Issues Committee Liaisons

Kasey Goodpaster, PhD, Chair
Lillian Craggs-Dino, DHA RDN LDN CLT, Co-Chair


  • To improve the care and treatment of people with obesity and related diseases
  • To be the recognized authority and resource on metabolic and bariatric surgery
  • To advance the science and understanding of metabolic and bariatric surgery


The Clinical Issues Committee creates evidence-based guidelines and position statements regarding clinical issues to enhance quality in metabolic and bariatric surgery patient care and to support ASMBS member practices. The Committee also performs systematic review of existing statement and guidelines, researches the current data, and makes appropriate updates and revisions as evidence becomes available. The committee is also charged with developing time-sensitive statements or recommendations related to new developments in the field of bariatric surgery.


  • Identify existing and emerging gaps in guidelines/position statements
  • Increase understanding of clinical issues
  • Establish and disseminate standards and protocols
  • Establish timeline based on relative clinical importance of issues

Committee Goals


  1. 2021 and 2022 calls for statements from membership; identify CIC priorities
  2. Publish Statement on One-anastomosis Gastric Bypass (OAGB)
  3. Increase CIC Member engagement


  1. Publish the following statements/update/literature review in SOARD:

    a. Preoperative Patient Optimization Before Metabolic and Bariatric Surgery

    b. Biliopancreatic Access Following Anatomy-Altering Bariatric Surgery: A Literature Review

    c. Impact of Metabolic and Bariatric Surgery on Nonalcoholic Steatohepatitis

    d. Updated Position Statement on Perioperative Venous Thromboembolism Prophylaxis in Bariatric Surgery

  2. Update ASMBS 2006 Guideline for Granting Privileges – Joint Task Force with Bariatric Surgery Training Committee

  3. Update ASMBS, ACS & SAGES Credentialing Guidelines 2013

  4. Update Bariatric Emergencies for the Non-Bariatric Surgeon Statement

  5. Update 1991 NIH Consensus Statement


  1. Ongoing identification of issues to develop statements and provide topics for EC Review
  2. Provide ongoing clarity on issues related to bariatric and metabolic surgery
  3. Ongoing review/revision of all existing and new statements
  4. Update 2014 Reoperative Guidelines
  5. Sleep Apnea with AASM Statement

Specific Projects that Achieve Goals and Objectives


  1. Sent call for statements from membership in January 2021 and January 2022

    a. 2021 CIC priorities and writing topics were approved and writing groups formed. Writing of position statement/review are currently in advanced stages of preparation:

    i. Review: Internal Hernia After Bariatric Surgery and Management of Mesenteric Defects

    ii. Limb lengths of Gastric Bypass – Primary & Revisional Surgery

    b. The Statement below is in review with ECEC:

    i. Role of Pharmacotherapy as Neoadjuvant/Adjuvant Therapy in Bariatric Surgery

    c. 2022 CIC priorities and writing topics were approved and writing groups will be formed to complete the following:

    i. Development of an ESG Statement (utlizing the Merritt Trial)

    ii. Update the OAGB Literature Review

    iii. Bariatric Surgery in the Medicare Population

  2. Statement on One-Anastomosis Gastric Bypass (OAGB) reviewed and approved as an ASMBS endorsed procedure; the Literature Review will be updated
  3. Committee Member Participation: 91% active writing and 99% active writing or reviewing


  1. Statements, update, and literature review listed above were published in SOARD
  2. ASMBS Guideline for Granting Privileges 2006 – CIC members assigned to Joint Task Force with Bariatric Surgery Training Committee (leading); in progress
  3. ASMBS, ACS & SAGES Credentialing Guidelines 2013 in review
  4. Bariatric Emergency for the Acute Care Surgeon Update in progress
  5. NIH Consensus Statement Update – collaboration with IFSO and ASMBS Pediatric Committee; in progress


  1. Call for statements sent out to membership in January of each year
  2. Review of existing ASMBS statements every 2 years
  3. Bariatrics and Contraception Counseling in progress
  4. 2014 Reoperative Guidelines Update added to 2022 call for statements
  5. Sleep Apnea with AASM Statement – CIC members assigned to collaboration with AASM (leading); in progress

2021-2022 Completed Projects

  1. ASMBS position statement on preoperative patient optimization before metabolic and bariatric surgery; Jonathan Carter, M.D., Julietta Chang, M.D., T. Javier Birriel, M.D., Fady Moustarah, M.D., Stephanie Sogg, Ph.D., Kasey Goodpaster, Ph.D., Sue Benson-Davies, Ph.D., Katie Chapmon, R.D., Dan Eisenberg, M.D. (October 2021)

  2. Biliopancreatic access following anatomy-altering bariatric surgery: a literature review; Pavlos Papasavas, M.D., Salvatore Docimo, Jr., D.O., Rodolfo J. Oviedo, M.D., Dan Eisenberg, M.D. for the American Society for Metabolic and Bariatric Surgery Clinical Issues Committee (October 2021)

  3. ASMBS Position Statement on the Impact of Metabolic and Bariatric Surgery on Nonalcoholic Steatohepatitis; Guilherme S. Mazzini, M.D., Ph.D., Toms Augustin, M.D., M.P.H., Sabrena Noria, M.D., Ph.D., Carlos Romero-Marrero, M.D., Na Li, M.D., Ph.D., Bilal Hameed, M.D., Dan Eisenberg, M.D., M.S., Dan E. Azagury, M.D., F.A.C.S., Sayeed Ikramuddin, M.D., M.H.A. (January 2022)

  4. ASMBS updated position statement on perioperative venous thromboembolism prophylaxis in bariatric surgery; Ali Aminian, M.D., R. Wesley Vosburg, M.D., Maria S. Altieri, M.D., M.S., Marcelo W. Hinojosa, M.D., Zhamak Khorgami, M.D. (January 2022)

  5. Review of several ASMBS Committee papers completed throughout the year

Your browser is out-of-date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now