Menu button

C. Joe Northup, MD

Margaret Inman, MD ACS

Michael Seger, MD

Teresa LaMasters, MD FASMBS
Executive Council Liaison


Nicholas Brown, MD FASMBS
David L. Chengelis, MD
Christopher Daigle, MD FRSC
Pamela Davis, BSN MBA RN CBN
Maher El Chaar, MD
Wayne English, MD FASMBS, Past Chair
Farah Husain, MD FASMBS
Linden Karas, MD

Ashutosh Kaul, MD FASMBS (Insurance Committee Co-Chair)
Robert B. Lim, MD FASMBS
Walter Lindstrom, Esq
John Morton, MD FASMBS, Past Chair
Fady Moustarah, MD MPH FRCSC 
Blake Movitz, MD

Joshua Pfeiffer, MD
Nancy Puzziferri, MD
John D. Scott, MD FASMBS, Immediate Past Chair
Bridget Slusarek, RN
Lloyd Stegemann, MD FASMBS
Al Swope II

Regional Super STARS and STARS (State Access to Care Representatives)

Super STAR Northeast Region — Matthew Hutter, MD MPH FASMBS
CT — Darren Tishler, MD FASMBS
MA — Sheila Partridge, MD FASMBS
ME — Jamie Loggins, MD
NH — Maureen Quigley, APRN
NY — William O’Malley, MD
RI — Siva Vithiananthan, MD FASMBS
VT — Patrick Forgione, MD

Super STAR Mid Atlantic Region — Guilherme Campos, MD FASMBS
DE — Rahul Singh, MD
MD — Open
NJ — Alex Onopchenko, MD
NC/SC — Ranjan Sudan, MD FASMBS
PA — Ann M. Rogers, MD FASMBS
VA/WV — Troy Glembot, MD FASMBS

Super STAR Southeast Central Region — Brandon Williams, MD FASMBS
AL — Todd Foreman, MD FASMBS
FL — Joseph Chebli, MD FASMBS
GA — Renee Hilton, MD
KY — Joshua Steiner, MD
OH — C. Joe Northup, MD
TN — Jenny Weaver, MD

Super STAR Upper Midwest Region — Luke Funk, MD FASMBS
IA — Matthew Christopherson, MD
IL — Jayaraj Salimath, DO BSN
IN — Brenda Cacucci, MD FASMBS
KS — Robert Aragon, MD
MI — Kathryn Ziegler, MD
MN — Jayson Dock, MD
MO — Christopher Eagon, MD FASMBS
NE — Gary Anthone, MD FASMBS
WI — Shanu Kothari, MD FASMBS & Kevin Wasco, MD FASMBS

Super STAR Lower Midwest Region — Robert O. Carpenter, MD MPH FASMBS
AR — John Baker, MD FASMBS
CO — Matthew Metz, MD
LA — Peter Lundberg, MD
MS — Jennifer O’Flarity, RN BSN
NM — Open
OK — Laure DeMattia, DO
TX — Tanyaradzwa Kajese, MD FASMBS

Super STAR Northwest Region — Valerie Halpin, MD FASMBS
AK — Michael Todd, MD
ID — Open
MT — John Pender, MD
ND — Luis Garcia, MD FACS MBA
OR — Valerie Halpin, MD FASMBS
SD — Kristin Turek, CNP
WA — Open
WY — Kevin Helling, MD

Super STAR Southwest Region — Ajay Upadhyay, MD FACS FRCS
AZ — Robert Berger, MD
CA — Ajay Upadhyay, MD FACS FRCS
HI — Steven Fowler, MD FASMBS
NV — Shawn Tsuda, MD
UT — Eric Volckman, MD

Industry AD Hoc Appointed

Juthika Pal – Ethicon
Gary A. Richardson – Ethicon
Scott Wolven – Ethicon
Michael Morseon – Medtronic
Gina Baldo – Medtronic
Michael Morseon, Medtronic

Vincent Zeringue — Medtronic
Joe Nadglowski – Obesity Action Coalition
W. Scott Butsch, MD MSc – The Obesity Society
Jeanine Sherman – ProCare Health
Chris Gallagher – Potomac Currents
Sharon Whalen – Reshape

ASMBS Staff Liaison

Leslie Vinson

State Chapter Map


The Access to Care Committee has the principal mission to assist patients affected by metabolic disease and obesity in obtaining appropriate, safe and effective medical care.


The Access to Care Committee has the principal mission to assist patients affected by metabolic disease and obesity in obtaining appropriate, safe and effective medical care. Committee activities include: developing the strategic vision and strategies to make improvement in access to care; advocating for legislative changes on the state and local level that will affect health care coverage; addressing the politics, policies and ethics of access issues on the local, state and national levels; and bringing together initiatives/partners to effectively address access issues.


  • Increase awareness of access issues and progress among public and members
  • Identify reasonable targets for progress in short mid and long term

Committee Goals


  1. Utilize STAR and Super STAR Network more effectively, involving State Chapter Presidents
  2. Access to Care Tool Kit Reorganization – Updated reference publications and websites, sample letters, PowerPoints in June 2018
  3. OAC/Access to Care “One Sheet” for Patients
  4. Access to Care Committee Facebook Closed Group for all ASMBS members
  5. Support for “National Obesity Care Week” in conjunction with OAC/industry


  1. ObesityWeek 2018 combined ASMBS and TOS Access to Care Symposium
  2. Metrics on the OAC/Access to Care “One Sheet” for Patients


  1. Continue efforts with “Leave No States Behind” campaign
    • Convert 27 “No” states to “Yes” states
    • Monitor filed complaint
  2. Medicaid Coverage in all 50 States: Only Montana remains
  3. State employee coverage in all 50 states: SC, MT, ID, WI
    • Monitor pilot programs
  4. Continue support of Treat and Reduce Obesity Act
  5. Continue presence and response to healthcare changes that are coming
  6. Future of Healthcare Reform in the wake of AHCA defeat
  7. Advocacy Efforts Tracking
Specific Projects that Achieve Goals and Objectives:
  1. Committee Chair utilizes the STAR/Super STAR network – communication prior to monthly meetings, regional reports during meetings
  2. Access to Care “Fast Action Groups” created January 2018 to facilitate member projects: Tool Kit Reorganization, OAC/Access to Care “One Sheet” for Patients, and Facebook Closed Group (formerly Insurance Denial Database); all projects completed before ObesityWeek in November 2018
  3. Prepared for and completed ObesityWeek 2018 combined ASMBS and TOS Access to Care Symposium on Wednesday, November 14 from 8-10am
  4. Post cards sent to all ASMBS surgeon members; will use OAC’s metrics from website to gauge usage
  5. Mid-month Access to Care conference Calls
  6. Monthly Access to Care Committee meetings
  7. Healthcare reform is currently not clear and is a moving target, but it will require our response and involvement as soon as we know which direction it is going
  8. Advocacy Activity Summary – updated monthly

2018 Completed Projects

  1. Support letter sent to Wisconsin Group Insurance Board c/o Board Liaison, Department of Employee Trust Funds regarding lack of state employee coverage for bariatric surgery
  2. Access to Care “Fast Action Groups” projects complete
    a. Access to Care Tool Kit Reorganization – current Advocacy Resources, Presentations and Publications added; Key Membership Directories, Letters and Position Statements updated in June 2018
    b. OAC/Access to Care “One Sheet” Postcard for PatientsOAC Advocacy website created and postcards mailed to all surgeon members in late August 2018
    c. ASMBS Access to Care Committee Facebook Closed Group created; invitations sent to join
    3) September 27, 2018 OCAN Hill Day in D.C. in conjunction with OMA’s D.C. meeting – visited 60 senate offices and 40 house offices, highlighting NOCW and TROA
Your browser is out-of-date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now