Texas State Chapter

Visit Chapter Website

Incorporated February 2006

Mission Statement

The Texas Association for Bariatric Surgery exists to reduce the incidence and consequence of obesity in Texas through advocacy, education and prevention; to promote access to appropriate obesity treatments; to end obesity discrimination and bias; and to advance clinical excellence in the treatment of the patient with obesity.

The Texas Association for Bariatric Surgery (TABS) is a resource for weight loss surgery physicians, surgeons and patients. The TABS serves patients and the medical professionals who care for them through education, wellness and advocacy efforts. TABS physician and surgeon members share ideas in the education, prevention and treatment of obesity to improve patient outcomes, conduct patient education, promote healthy living and advocate for the rights of the obese.

Weight loss surgery patients are invited to join the effort by registering with TABS to receive updates and event notices, and to have your voices heard by legislators. Together we will work to improve and change the lives of the obese and weight loss surgery patients across Texas.

©2010 Texas Association for Bariatric Surgery All rights reserved.

Executive Officers

President: Benjamin Clapp, MD FASMBS
Vice President: Open
Secretary: Tanyaradzwa Kajese, MD FASMBS
Treasurer: Monique Hassan, MD MBA FACS DABOM FASMBS
Past Presidents: Sina Matin, MD FACS (2020-2022); Robert O. Carpenter, MD MPH FASMBS (2018-2020); Michael V. Seger, MD FACS FASMBS (2016-2018); Richard Peterson, MD MPH FACS FASMBS (2014-2016); Glen M. Ihde, MD (2012-2014); Joseph Kuhn, MD (2010-2012); Erik B. Wilson, MD FASMBS (2008-2010); Lloyd H. Stegemann, MD FASMBS (2005-2008)
Integrated Health President: Connie Klein, NPC CBN
Integrated Health Vice President: Kaci Rosipal, PA-C MPAS
Integrated Health Secretary: Open
Integrated Health Past Presidents: John Archibeque, MSN MBA CBSGL RN CBN; Carol Wolin, MA RD LD; Sharla Stroup, RN CBN CNOR; Renee O’Daniel, RN MSN; Cyndi Inkpen, DHA MPA MA CBSGL; Connie Klein, NP CBN
STAR (State Access to Care Representative): Tony Primomo, MD
Lower Midwest Regional Super STAR: Robert O. Carpenter, MD MPH FASMBS

Board Members

TBD (Western)
Kulvinder Bajwa, MD FASMBS (Coastal)
Sachin Kukreja, MD FASMBS (Northeast)
Samer Mattar (South Central)
TBD (North Central)
Folahan Ayoola, MD FASMBS (Member at Large)
Colleen Kennedy, MD MBA FASMBS (Member at Large)
Kristopher Knoop, MD (Member at Large)
Tamika Scott, DNP APRN- BC FNP-C (Integrated Health Member at Large)
Megan Tomczyszyn, MS RD LD CPT RYT (Integrated Health Member at Large)
Kristen Barnes, RN BSN ADN BA-SOCIOLOGY (Integrated Health Member at Large)
Andrea Collins, BSN RN CBN (Integrated Health Member at Large)

Texas Chapter Bylaws

Executive Director

Carrie Steffen, Chapter Administrator
4655 Rockcress Ct.
Zionsville, IN 46077

Chapter Meetings

TABS 2024 Annual Meeting in San Antonio February 2-3

Support Groups


Advocacy Information