Menu button

Chapter Information

Incorporated 2007

Executive Officers

President: Laura Fischer, MD MS
Secretary: Zhamak Khorgami, MD
Treasurer: Mohammad Farukhi, MD
Past President: Hamilton Le, MD FASMBS; Luis Gorospe, MD
STAR (State Access to Care Representative) OK: Roy Greenway, Jr., MD
IH STAR (State Access to Care Representative) OK: Carah Horn, MBA-HCA BSN RN
STAR (State Access to Care Representative) AR: Tripurari Mishra, MD
IH STAR (State Access to Care Representative) AR: Shirley Bearden, RN CBN

Chapter Meetings

  • Oklahoma/Arkansas Chapter Walk from Obesity 2023
    Saturday, June 3rd

  • Oklahoma/Arkansas Chapter Meeting 2023
    Friday, June 2nd
    1000 NE 13th st, Level 5 OKC, OK 73104

  • Oklahoma/Arkansas Chapter Meeting at the ASMBS Annual Meeting 2022 in Dallas, TX
    Tuesday, June 7th
    5:30-6:30pm Central
    Hyatt Regency Dallas/Bryan Beeman B Room

  • Oklahoma/Arkansas Chapter Meeting January 21, 2021 – Zoom annual meeting to discuss telemedicine, insurance coverage, access to care, and elective surgery restrictions.

  • Phone calls and emails among members, but no meetings due to restrictions.

  • Oklahoma/Arkansas Chapter Meeting January 2, 2020

  • Oklahoma/Arkansas Chapter Meeting January 10, 2019

  • Oklahoma/Arkansas Chapter Meeting at ObesityWeek 2018
    Tuesday, November 13
    5:15-6:15pm Central
    Omni Nashville Hotel, 250 5th Ave S, Nashville, TN 37203, Gibson Boardroom

  • Oklahoma/Arkansas Chapter Meeting April 12, 2018 in Tulsa, OK

  • Oklahoma/Arkansas Annual Chapter Meeting November 5-6th, 2017

  • Oklahoma/Arkansas Chapter Meeting July 2017 at Bodine in Tulsa, OK

  • Oklahoma/Arkansas Chapter Meeting May 11, 2017 at Bodine in Tulsa, OK

  • Oklahoma/Arkansas Chapter Meeting April 13, 2017 in Tulsa, OK

  • Oklahoma/Arkansas Chapter Meeting January 12, 2017 at 7pm
    Norman, OK

  • Oklahoma/Arkansas Chapter Meeting August 11, 2016 in Tulsa, OK

  • Quarterly meetings will be the 2nd Thursday of each Quarter: January, April, August, and October

  • August 20, 2015 – Hosted by the Oklahoma ASMBS

  • May 2015: First annual meeting to restart chapter

Chapter Updates


  • All activities for 2020 were cancelled due to COVID.


  • Walk from Obesity Spring 2018


  • State Insurance – Healthchoice began coverage for state employees and teachers in January 2017; 250,000 covered lives affected statewide.
  • Spring 2017 Bariatric Ball


  • We were successful in lobbying the state insurance, HealthChoice, to provide bariatric benefits for teachers and state employees starting January 1, 2017.
  • May 14, 2016 Walk from Obesity – 125 participants


  • Lobbying state health insurance for bariatric benefits; they are conducting their own pilot to prove feasibility and cost effect benefits.

Support Groups

Advocacy Information

Your browser is out-of-date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now